What In the World Are Tannins?

In my quest for wine wisdom I have started to educate myself in the lingo of wine making.  While shopping for wine I have come across certain bottles using the word tannin in the description. What are tannins exactly? Tannins give wine a dry and bitter taste, which I love. They come from many different sources but grape seeds and skins are popular options along with oak. Now I know why so many bottles advertise the barrel that the wine is aged in! Next time I drink a glass of my favorite Cabernet Sauvignon I can ponder the taste of its tannins.

http://winefolly.com/review/what-are-tannins-in-wine/

Leave a Reply

