Collecting Wine Labels

As I take photos of the wines I drink on my Iphone and upload them onto snapchat, my mind wanders to what seems to be an imaginary time, a time when phones didn’t exist. I ponder to myself how people kept track of the wines they drank. After a quick google search I discovered that wine enthusiasts use to soak the labels off and arrange them in a scrap book. Besides being an interesting hobby collectors can see how the typography and style of the labels change over time. Now that is scrap booking I would be interested in. Check out a collection of wine labels that UC Davis is working on turning into a searchable database.

https://labelthis.library.ucdavis.edu/

Leave a Reply

